Student Voice

In January 2024, Wokingham elected Maya Guelbert, a student at The Holt School, as its latest Member of Youth Parliament (MYP) and as Deputy MYP, Will Hunt from The Piggott School. Maya and Will won the election against strong completion from Mustafa Khan from The Bulmershe School, Adam Poll from St Crispin’s School and Katie Ebomwonyi from Waingels.

Following internal processes in each school to determine who their candidates would be, the five came together in the council chamber in Wokingham to put forward their plans, to explain what their priorities would be if they were elected and to answer a variety of questions that were put to them. The quality of both their presentations and the content of what they said was high and they all performed very well.

Wokingham Borough Mayor Cllr Beth Rowland joined the proceedings and very kindly gave a keynote speech.

As MYP, Maya becomes a member of the Youth Parliament which is run by the British Youth Council. This gives her the opportunity to represent the borough of Wokingham nationally.

To see the press release of the event, please see New Youth MP for Wokingham Borough elected.

Maya and Will’s term of office is two years, so they will be in post until January 2026.